Friday, September 29, 2006

nohawk

As I quietly slip into my 30s, I have found that I might have the opportunity to start a new hair trend.

In recent years we've seen a rise in prominence of 'ironic' follicle fashions. First it was the, 'I woke up and left' look. I sported this for quite some time, for the most part I actually had just woken up, but usually I would cement the styling with hairgel to make it look intentional. More recently, there have been a large number of 'faux hawks' about. These were always popular in the shower as a kid, but somehow that private silliness became a veritable trend.

The latest 'thing' is a stylized combover. Which I also seemed to be at the right time and place to use, and enjoy, personally.

When I left for a trip to warmer climates, I shaved my head and noticed the increasing prominance of my scalp. In some phots we've taken, it appears the centre of my head is dyed an odd combo of blonde and skin color. It's not a dye-job, but it could be. Maybe purposefully having a strip of skin from forehead to crown could be a new style? It doesnt seem that unreasonable. I think I am onto something.

Wednesday, September 13, 2006

moe. and Rock'n'Roll

Having had a couple weeks to reflect on the annual moe.down festival in Turin, NY. I would just like to thank Christ, for moe.

I am an extremely analytical music lover. I hate music/bands very quickly if they don't meet my rigid critera of being: orginal, fun, real (or at least that i perceive them to be), gifted, playful yet serious, innovative (in some way), unpretentious and of course, cool. Not many (any?) bands can fill all these demands, or even 50% really, so I try to be forgiving in my tastes to allow a greater stable of favourites. It works. However, moe. is a band that seems to be able to rock on all these counts..

When the jamrock explosion seemingly died, some-time in 2004, (I guess the final nail was Phish calling it quits)- it seemed like nobody was interested in jambands anymore, not even the bands themselves. Eclectic and improvised became no-no words.

Bands that that were 'supposed' Rock'n'Roll improvisers, stopped jamming to 'concentrate on songwriting'. Now, don't get me wrong, I think its a good thing to concentrate on songs- but when you start out as a jammy band, because its trendy, and quit because its no longer trendy- it's impossible for your songs to matter anyway. Some bands cut the jamming to a minimum, which is understandable, cause it cant always be a 30 minute orgasm. Others just decided it was time to stay home and get old. But mostly, the movement kind of came to a halt. It was like there was a giant continuous wave of Jambands building up between 1998-2003, with hopes and dreams of being the next Phish or Dead, or even being able to live that dream for a moment, and when it became evident that Phish itself was an impossible dream for Phish, the massive wave hit the jagged shores of Southern Jersey like a tsunami of tie-dye, dissipating quickly and leaving only some Languedoc clones, ragged birkenstocks sandals, broken patch chords and empty baggies in its wake.

This really hurt for those of us who do enjoy watching a band move together, in the interest of moving a crowd. It just stopped happening altoghther, with a couple exceptions.

Then came the indie explosion of 2003. I've loved bands like Pavement, the Pixies, sebadoh, Sonic Youth and whatever since high school- I always thought it was an ongoing thing 'the indie scene'..It has been for me. but even when it was supposedly 'the thing' a couple years ago, it was still just getting bigger and bigger. It became and has become like chic-grunge. The amount of overwieght dudes I see with emo-faux combovers, a too-tight mod shirt, adjusting those black rimmed glasses, slouching as they walk the street, casually pulling the stretchy fabric away from their not-starved stomachs because even they are not believing this fabricated 'fuck the world character', makes me cry for humanity. Its such a fucking silly fashion show that ruins things. Because I think for the most part its such great music. It becomes a horrible caracature of itself, like any 'scene' will.

Anyway.

Regardless of what all these bands were doing, moe. just kept being moe. They havent waivered. much. They write songs they can stand by, so much so they are still able to play them 10 years after writing them. They play in comfortable rooms, and give the fans three hours of music for their low-low ticket price. They don't do everything right.. there is definitley a bit of a slacker ethic, which I think is how they maintain continuity- by not freaking out about deadlines, and not getting worked up with Internet froth. It is also just something else most moe. fans feel they have in common with them. There is serious deadication to music, musicianship, ebb and flow and the experience as a whole, which is what they really have going for them- and what their fans have really come to appreciate. It's what makes the experience something different.

I expect this will be a huge year for moe. with a new album, big shows on NYE, touring with the Who and a new DVD-> They'll be on the O.C before you know it.. I urge that you get out and see this band while they are still relatively under the radar. Which must be an incredibly frustrating place to be after 15 years.

Anyway, I dont even know who you are, but if you're reading this- you should really already know this. I really like to see a band take it different places everytime and bring it back to a good song. moe. does this.

They are on the road right now, so if you get a chance, go see them, and tell me about it!

Tuesday, September 12, 2006

Larry the Cable Guy ...

I've been a big detester of blue collar, red neck humour ever since I heard my 3 millionth 'you know your a redneck when.. joke' from Jeff Foxworthy.

I had noticed 'Larry the Cable Guy' at Blockbuster, on a the cover of a some straight-to-video comedy releases.. with names like 'git'r'done'- He was pictured making goofy faces with his thumbs up, or tangled in cable wires. I always kind of hoped he was actually Mike Bullard in costume, trying to turn his failed career shame spiral into a tornado of glory. Even Mike Bullard is too smart to adopt this charater as a full time persona. I did a little checking, and apparently, his comedy albums "Lord, I Apologize", released in 2001, and "The Right To Bare Arms", released in 2005, have both been certified gold. He apparently has legions of fans.


Larry the Cable Guy (his name is really Daniel Whitney) also starred in a movie: Health Inspector. A dumb ass cable guy becomes a health inspector. Hilarious concept.

Can I ask, Who is paying for this shit? Who is making it and who is buying it up? Who is relating to this? Is America this far gone?

Then, as these media always seem to do- they blitz you. Before I knew it, Larry the Cable guy was on Leno- twice, in as many months. On the second round, promoting his 'Blue Collar Comedy Tour'- with, you guessed it, Jeff Foxworthy; Touring around the USA with two other low brow specialists. I watched a few moments of his schtick and realized, he is relating to the lowest common denominator in western society: ignorance.

I started to have visits from Larry the Cable guy in my dreams. Cocky yet boorish, he would fumble next to my bed trying to install the cable line. He could tell that I saw through his act, but he didnt want me to tell anyone. Is this all is takes to have a career in showbusiness, be as obvious as possible in all respects? Perhaps I should become 'Sal the Garbage man' and make jokes about taking stuff from the garbage and keeping it. Would it fly? yes. it would. "now dis, dis is a prime bit of fertaliza right heea.. I put dis in da garden, or in a flowah bed.." (holding a poopy diaper.)

I've discussed Larry with a few friends, one of them recently sent me a link to an open letter David Cross published to Larry the Cable Guy. He's done his 'research' and this is an excellent read worth checking out: http://www.bobanddavid.com/david.asp?artID=183 .
I am happy I havent actually been exposed to one of Larry's routines- I will keep it that way. Good luck.

Friday, September 08, 2006

goin'n'doin somethin'

I'm going backpacking for the first time next week. My GF and I are flying into San Jose, Costa Rica and taking 3 months to travel north to (through Nicaragua, El Salvador, Honduras, Guatemala, Belize and finally Mexico) Cancun, from where we will fly home a week before Christmas.

In an attempt to peel our mind's eyelid back a little further, we're not making any reservations, except for our first and last's nights and we plan to fly by the seat of our pants on this journey as much as possible. I am usually accustomed to traveling 'on an itinerary', so this is a big first for me and I've had to deal with some anxieties on the subject. We've been doing some reading in guidebooks, taking some Spanish lessons and mentally preparing for almost 9 months and now the time is almost here. I have never felt so ready and excited for an adventure.. We'll be getting home in time to surprise my grampa on his 90th B-day. He'll like that.

We will be keeping a seperate blog with pictures and reports, written with family and colleagues in mind. Once we establish that, I'll add a link to this one. I'll try and relay the more disturbing and absurd tidbits/antics here.. seems like a safe place?

Also- It's quite hilarious how many ridiculously good shows have been lined up for Ottawa and the area while we're away. I'm a little bitter, but not really, I'm hoping to discover all kinds of new music on our adventures.

Autumn is almost here..
Hasta Luego.